Ellinwood Country Club was opened in 1929. The original Donald Ross design consisted of 9 picturesque holes. The club was well received by the town people of Athol, MA and “the Ellinwood” began to flourish. By 1965, it was apparent that Ellinwood needed to expand to a 18 hole facility. With the help of local and world renowned designer Geofferey Cornish, Ellinwood began its growth to 18 holes. Cornish, carefully shaped and placed 9 new holes in and around the existing 9.
Over the years Ellinwood has played important role, identifying the town of Athol. The club hosts numerous events, weddings, and everyday functions. Our Function Hall is open to the Public and can seat up to 225. It has recently received some updates. The Rustic Bar is by far our favorite place with it’s Brick Fireplace and Post and Beam decor.